Dr. Anil Kr. Boro, Professor, Gauhati University conferrs Sahitya Akademi Award 2013 for his excellent poetic work

Dr.Anil Kr. Boro, Professor, Gauhati University
The Sahitya Akademi, New Delhi vide its Press Release (No.SA.61/13/ AW/PR/dated 18th December, 2013) has announced the names of winners of Sahitya Akademi Award 2013. This time poetry writers have dominated the Sahitya Akademi Awards.

Dr. Anil Kr. Boro, M. A. (GAU), Ph. D.(GAU), Folk Literature, Bodo Literature and Post Modernism has been honoured with the Sahitya Akademi Award 2013 for his poetry book “Delphini Onthai Mwdai Arw Gubun Gubun Khonthai” written in Bodo language.
He is serving as Professor in the Department of Folklore, Gauhati University, Guwahati and former Lecturer, Department of English, Dimoria College, Khetri, Kamrup (Metro), Assam. He delighted so much that his poetic work is recognized to get appreciation with the esteemed award like Sahitya Akademi. His poetic work was published in the year 2010 and moreover, he wrote four more poetry books before this prestigious work. He made valuable contribution in research field also, besides one of the leading poets in Bodo literature. He was awarded Ph.D. by the Faculty of Arts, Gauhati University for the research work entitled “Invention of Tradition and Ethnic Identity : The Context of Post Colonial North-East Indian Society.
This research work was published in the year 2007. Similarly a lot of research works that way done by him have been published in national research journals also. The people of Assam feel proud on his great achievement.

Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary honour in India, which the Sahitya Akademi, the India’s National Academy of Letters established in the year 1954, annually confers on writers of outstanding works. The Sahity Akademi is an organisation committed for promoting Indian literature, throughout the world and it recognizes presently twenty four major Indian languages including English, such as, Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telegu and Urdu language.

Instituted in 1954, the Sahitya Akademi Award, at present, comprises an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cash prize of Rupees one lakh. The purpose of the award is to recognize and promote excellence in Indian writing and also acknowledge the new trends.

According to the Sahitya Akademi announcement, eight of poetry, four of essays, three of novels, two each of short stories and travelogues, one each of autobiography, memoirs and play have won the Sahitya Akademi Award for the year 2013. The Awards were recommended by the Jury members representing concerned Indian languages and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi. The awards for Assamese and Gujarati language will be declared later on.

Including Dr. Anil Kr. Boro, Professor, Gauhati University, the other award winning famous poets are Subodh Sarkar (Bengali), Sitaram Sapolia (Dogri), Ambika Dutt (Rajasthani), Radhakant Thakur (Sanskrit), Arjun Charan Hembram (Santali), Namdev Tarachandani (Sindhi) and Javed Akhtar (Urdu).

The novelists Mridula Garg (Hindi), Manmohan (Punjabi) and R. N. Joe D’Cruz (Tamil) are among those honoured with the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2013.

Sahitya Akademi Awards for books of essays have received by C. N. Rama Chandran (Kannada), Tukaram Rama Shet (Konkani), Satish Kalasekar (Marathi), and Katyayani Vidmahe (Telugu).

Professor (Rtd) Temsula Ao has received Sahitya Akademi Award 2013 for her short story collection (English) “Laburnum For My Head.” The author Mohi-ud-Din Reshi has also won Sahitya Akademi for the book of short stories written in Kashmiri language.

The Awards won for their travelogues are Makhonmani Mongsaba (Manipuri) and Man Bahadur Pradhan (Nepali). M. N. Paloor (Malayalam) for his autobiography, Sureshwar Jha (Maithili) for his memoirs and Bijoy Misra has been honoured for his play write in Odia language.

The Awards of 2013 will be presented to all the winning authors at a special function scheduled to be held on 11th March, 2014 in New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.

Dimorian Review congratulates to Dr. Anil Kr. Boro  for his achievement!
Share Every Sense on Art, Culture & Literature; Travel & Tourism; Commerce & Economy; Science & Technology; etc. Send us your Write-up by Email: dimorianreview@gmail.com


Share every sense on Art, Culture & Literature; Travel & Tourism; Commerce & Economy; Science & Technology; etc. Publish Article, Story, Poetry, Book Review, Travelogue, Recipe and News. Send us your creative contents written or transcreated in English at E-mail:dimorianreview@gmail.com

Get Free Updates at Your Inbox! Enter Your Email Address:


Twitter Bird Gadget